PROJECTS – ORGANISATIONS WITH PAID STAFF
Sunshine Coast Council
Expanding Experience – Bankfoot House Heritage Precinct
State heritage-listed Bankfoot House is the oldest surviving residence in the Glass House Mountains. Built in 1868, it was once the lunch stop and staging post for Cobb & Co coaches on the Brisbane to Gympie goldfields route. Gifted to Council by the Ferris family in 2004, it was on condition that the house is open to the public and the story told of the three generations of the same family who lived there for 134 years.
The aim of the Bankfoot House Heritage Precinct Exhibitions Project was to increase visitor experience by creating new permanent exhibitions within previously under-utilised spaces and enhancing existing exhibitions. It also opened the precinct to a first-ever temporary exhibitions program and expanded public and education programming. The multi-faceted project involved five buildings and a total of seventeen spaces, including re-launching the Mary Grigor Centre as an exhibition space, and restoring the heritage shed.
Sunshine Coast Council worked closely with Queensland Museum, M&G QLD, consultants, conservators and archaeologists to complete all stages leading up to and including the Bankfoot House Heritage Precinct Exhibitions Project. All exhibitions and interpretation associated with the project was undertaken by Council staff and was timed for completion for the Bankfoot House 150th anniversary in October 2018. The Friends of Bankfoot House were involved in all stages of the project, and Council values their enormous contribution and continued support.
Banner image: 2019 GAMAA trophies created by Queensland artist Lucy Quinn. Photo: Andrea Higgins, courtesy of M&G QLD.