- 18 Jessie Lane, Murphys Creek QLD 4352
- Opening hours
- Saturday, 10am - 1pm; Sunday 10am - 3pm
- Gold coin donation
Follow the original Cobb & Co route to Murphys Creek and discover the hidden treasure that is Jessie’s Cottage Local History Museum. In 1899, this charming and unique cottage was built by Scottish immigrant, William Taylor.
Arriving in Murphys Creek in 1880, this early pioneering family owned land and raised five children. Jessie, the first born daughter, remained in the cottage living for the last forty years of her life alone, until her death in 1966.
Step back in time to learn about the Taylor Family and marvel at the cottage as an example of early Australian kit home architecture. Bring a picnic and enjoy the family friendly surrounds of the cottage.
Lovingly restored by the Murphys Creek Community, the Murphys Creek Neighbourhood Centre is proud to be the custodians of Jessie’s Cottage and encourages everyone to visit!